Want to express your opinion to the DoJ? You should

Learned something new today (always a good thing). I was checking out Mike Shatzkin’s blog ( a really good publishing blog, a smart guy, and he takes the time to respond to everyone which makes him very cool):

http://www.idealog.com/blog/, and found out that the DoJ must take into account feedback from the citizenry about  the settlement/suit with the publishers. Apparently this is law. So, if you would like to explain to the DoJ why you feel the suit is wrong, too harsh, etc. you may do so in writing. For me, I will do my best to explain why this suit is far more than just an issue about pricing, and how the DoJ does not seem to be understanding the ins and outs of the publishing industry. While, my little ol’ author voice may not carry any weight at all, I feel it’s my duty here to add to the overall weight of the argument against the DoJ’s suit and how it fails to rectify much of anything. Anyway, if you’d like to join in on this, the address to send your letter is below. Happy reading/writing everyone!

John Read
Chief Litigation III Section
Antitrust Division
U.S. Department of Justice
450 5th Street, NW, Suite 4000
Washington, DC 20530

Comments are closed.