The Proofs…or, Hey! This Looks Like a Real Book

Stepped outside my door yesterday to go to work and discovered a package addressed to me from FedEx. It was thick and flexible. A bunch of cover flats? My editor had mentioned getting me some, but a couple hundred? This package was pretty thick. It turns out, my galley proofs had been sent. I was not aware of this incoming item, so it took me by surprise.  The copy edits got turned in not all that long ago and here come the proofs. Regardless, very cool to see.

For those who don’t know, the proof is the final phase of the book prior to actually going to print. Framed by small measurement marks on standard sized paper is each page of the book exactly how it will look  on the printed page. The book has gone to the copy editor and I’ve made my notes on their notes and now we have the final draft. I can’t rewrite anything now. What’s done is done. All I can do now is make sure there are no typos, deleted words, and so on, minor details that will catch a reader’s eye and cause their reading experience to be disrupted. I am the last gate through which my book must go before being sent to press. If something gets through, it’s on me. So, when you find those little mistakes in a book, know it’s not all on the publisher. The author had their final chance to catch them to, before being immortalized on the printed page.

Three weeks to get through them, too. No excuse for any mistakes to get passed on. None.  How much you want to bet, there will be one, somewhere, and I will smack myself when someone finds it.

4 responses to “The Proofs…or, Hey! This Looks Like a Real Book

  1. “The author had their final chance to catch them to, before being immortalized on the printed page.”

    Please tell me that typo is intentional so I may commence loving you forever.

  2. Sounds momentous. Congratulations, Jim 🙂

    The story of how this work came to find a publishing home is worthy of publication, itself.