Which Book is Dying to be Adapted?

We read books all of the time that we think, “Now that would make a fabulous movie,” or a t.v. series for that matter. They have that great character or group of characters that jump of the page, the plot is full of twists and turns and drama that would look great on the screen, or any other number of factors. There are about as many reasons for adaptation as there are reasons for a book being good in the first place. Some, for whatever reason though, just call out for it. For me, my biggest adaptation wish is going to be coming true. HBO is doing George R.R. Martin’s Fire and Ice series. I’ve never been more stoked for something to come to the screen. I’m even more excited to see this than when I started seeing stuff for Lord of the Rings.  Another I’d love to see is J.D. Robb’s “Death” series. The near future setting, great characters, and interesting cases would translate very well. I’m honestly surprised this has not been done yet.

Anyway, you tell me. What books/series do think should be translated to the screen?

6 responses to “Which Book is Dying to be Adapted?

  1. For the bad ones you should say, “Let’s just hope this isn’t the best she can do. Good luck.”

  2. The Studio Ghibli portrayal of Diana Wynne Jones’ Howl’s Moving Castle was really really good. Since, I have wanted the rest of the Castle series to be animated. Of course, a live-action movie of Howl’s Moving Castle wouldn’t displease me either.

  3. Any of Dennis Lehane’s books is dying to be adapted. Especially “Darkness Take My Hand” and “Prayer For The Rain”. Bubba Rogowski deserves a cinematographic treatment.

    Other than that, the Gunnar Staalesen novels would be deserving since Stieg Larsson had so much success.

  4. I’d love to see the “In Death” books, too, but…not. Who would play Eve and Roarke? The debate flies fast and furious among the fans. Would liberties be taken with it as they were with the Sookie Stackhouse novels on HBO’s “True Blood.”

    Sabrina, I enjoyed THE ALIENIST, too! I think it would make a terrific movie!

    I’m going to pull out an old series, and one not well known in this day and age. Andre Norton wrote the Witch World series WAY back when (the first book came out in 1963). I loved them! And still have them on my shelf, though the paperback copies are almost too brittle to read now. If anyone is interested: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Witch_World for a quick overview.

    Great topic today!

  5. While it’s not some of my favorites, I always thought that the Mars triology (Red, Blue, Green) by Kim Stanley Robinson would be a great series for the SyFy network.

    And, while the movie from the 80s is one of my favorites, I really think ‘The Neverending Story’ should be redone. It would be great if it just followed the book closer.

  6. My favorite book of all time is The Alienist by Caleb Carr. There is a sequel titled The Angel of Darkness as well.

    The cast of characters, the setting of New York in the late 1800s, the history built in to the books (including the figures of Theodore Roosevelt as police commisioner), and the birth of forensic science all make for an amazing read and a book I’ve always thought would be an amazing movie or TV show.

    A fantastic book!