Writing Takes a Backseat

Recently, I was laid off from job I’ve had for the past ten years. Again. I didn’t even stay on for a year this time around. The vagaries of the auto industry, I hates them! Thus, creativity and writing are in the backseat while I’m desperately trying to find full-time work again, in an area of the country where manufacturing is hurting. Hell, employment opportunities (decent ones) are hurting around here in every field. So, my focus is away from Deadworld, and is looking at how the hell to afford Christmas and pay bills at the same time. The blog may be a bit lean over the next few weeks until I get myself situated again (hopefully sooner rather than later). I’ll try to keep some posts going because I’m continually trying to build an audience here, which is damn tough as a debut author. Cross your fingers for me and wish me luck.

Oh, I have arcs coming soon, and if I have a spare, I may run a contest for one lucky reader to win a very early look at Deadworld. Happy writing!

4 responses to “Writing Takes a Backseat

  1. Good luck with everything Jim. I’m sure your series of novels will do really well. I’d love to participate in a contest with your debut, Deadworld, as the prize. 🙂

  2. So sorry Jim! Wishing you luck in the work situ and a sense of humor to cope with it all (going trough similar ourselves). Hang in there. Don’t people understand there’s a good chance they’ll end up in your novel dying a painful death (or worse) if they don’t cooperate with you?? Take your time – we’ll still be here when you’re ready. 🙂