Nick’s Journal #1

I thought I’d offer a little insight into one of the main characters of Deadworld today. Nick Anderson is the hero in my story. He is not the main character, but he is a central figure in the story and the series as a whole. Actually, Nick was the character upon which my whole story began. When I started this, I wanted to write a story with vampires, in some form or another. I wanted to do something different and steer away from the more typical gothic mythos. I wanted a tormented man, a loner, struggling with who and what he’s become, and hellbent on tracking down the one who has made his life such misery. My inspiration for Nick, and one of my all-time favorite characters, was Roland the Gunslinger from Stephen King’s Dark Tower series. Personally, this is one of my favorite stories of all time.

Below, is the first entry in his journal, kept as he travelled around the states trying to track down and kill his nemesis. I hope to make this a regular feature, if readers enjoy it, so please feel free to offer feedback on it and let me know what you think. If you click on fullscreen mode in the scribd reader, it’s the easiest way to read. Enjoy!

Comments are closed.