Contest and Arc Giveaway!

It’s time to give away another arc of Deadworld, and this time, my fabulous agent, Ginger Clark is tossing in an arc of Patricia Wrede’s YA Fantasy “Across the Great Barrier,” which is the sequel to her very cool sounding fantasy-alternate-history, “The Thirteenth Child.” Inspired by my equally fabulous former agent, Nathan Bransford’s recent contest for opening paragraphs, I’m going to do the opposite. To enter for the two arcs, all you need to do is give me you best “ending” paragraph. The cliffhanger, if you will. It can be a whole paragraph or just a sentence or two. It can be from current work in progress or entirely made up on the fly. If you aren’t a writer, pick a favorite cliffhanger from you favorite story.  The point of the cliffhanger here, is to leave us yearning for what happens next.

I’ll keep this open through the weekend, at which point I’ll put my top five choices up on Monday and everyone will get to vote. I’ll post results and winner on Wednesday. Try to keep entries around 100 words or less, please. Mostly importantly, have fun with it! For those not familiar with Patricia Wrede, here is a blurb about the first book in her series, “The Thirteenth Child”:

Eff was born a thirteenth child. Her twin brother, Lan, is the seventh son of a seventh son. This means he’s supposed to possess amazing talent — and she’s supposed to bring only bad things to her family and her town. Undeterred, her family moves to the frontier, where her father will be a professor of magic at a school perilously close to the magical divide that separates settlers from the beasts of the wild. With wit and wonder, Patricia Wrede creates an alternate history of westward expansion that will delight fans of both J. K. Rowling and Laura Ingalls Wilder.

6 responses to “Contest and Arc Giveaway!

  1. The worst was over. It was clear by the blood pouring forth from the dying Sielac, what could never happen did. What now, what would really change over here? I’d been kept in this place for weeks, unsure of what happened on the other side. I had done it though, I had walked with demons and fought beside angels. Through the shroud of the rift I saw people walking by, unaware what had been averted this day. I relaxed my hold on the hilt of Truth and started to dift back to where I belonged, however alone that was now. I knew I could never return here, alive anyway, and simply faded. “..wait there’s more!” I heard just as my grasp of eternity faltered and deprted, bringing me back to the streets of Oylmpia. It registered, the voice, it belonged to Trevor . How could that be? we all knew he died in the mountins on the property where it all began. And it sunk in, he was there before me, he was, no, is there now. Alive.

  2. Great contest! Here is my entry from a current WIP…

    Before I could think about it the pain began moving through my body. Every muscle, nerve, bone and tissue seemed severed from my person. My head swam with a warm, heavy sensation and my body was quivering uncontrollably.
    After laying there in the darkness for some time, voices finally approached from a direction I couldn’t identify. Before I could make out who or what they were all sensation and thought instantly stopped. Time didn’t exist. Everything vanished into a deep and dark blackness that absorbed all. It was in that nothingness where a new truth was to be created.

  3. As the zombies chased her down the darkened road, Emma realized one thing: she had run out of bullets. Damn her mother for being right about the machete.

  4. Ooo, fun. I want to play. Here’s the last paragraph from my WIP:

    There was forgiveness to beg from both men standing in my doorway. One had every right to want me dead – after all, I’d sacrificed his life for another. The one whose life I’d saved couldn’t remember my name. I wasn’t sure which hurt more. I ran a shaky hand through my hair, tugging a finger bone from the gnarled mess. With a grimace, I dropped it on the carpet and headed for the kitchen. I didn’t have to look back to know they followed me. Quiet as the dead, which I supposed they were, they watched me set the oven to preheat. I tugged open the freezer and reached to the back, my fingers brushing a bag of French Roast. It was a caffeine and cookies kind of night.

  5. Okay, I’ll play. 😀 This is the very last scene from a current work–a paranormal crime novel with romantic elements, the first in a series.

    Several hours later, the cell phone on the table beside the bed launched a buzzing dance across the nightstand’s polished surface. A naked arm snaked out from under the covers and patted the table in a blind search for the offending thing.

    “Ignore it,” a deeply satisfied male voice murmured.

    “I can’t. That’s the bat signal,” an equally satisfied female voice replied. The hand finally found the phone, grabbed it, and pulled it under the covers. “Uhm, yeah. This better be good.”

    “Sade? Caleb is missing.”

    • I’m so in on this. This is the last paragraph of a chapter in a book I’ve been querying.

      Tiani frowned but turned and walked away. She headed across the training yard to where the others practiced. They kicked dummies and logs. They were no match for the wolves. A screech filled the air, and Tiani looked into the sky. A hawk flew overhead. It called again, and again. Was the hawk helping him? What could it be telling him? The branches rustled and Tiani froze, the sunlight beating down on her back. It was almost noon, the sun was at its highest. Why would anyone attack now? There wasn’t any tactical advantage to attacking when everyone could see clearly. The branches rustled again, and from the shadows a large gray wolf stepped forward, its eyes blood red.