What Makes A Good Newsletter?

I’ve been pondering the notion of creating an author newsletter, one of those monthly things that goes out to interested people’s inboxes, filled with authorly, writerly things. However, I’m wondering just what I might put in one that would actually make folks interested enough to subscribe. So, readers, what kinds of things would you find interesting enough in a newsletter to want it to come to you inbox every month, that wouldn’t be just as handy putting in the blog? I could certainly put stuff in there that would be unavailable in the blog, like extra excerpts, giveaways, and the like, but I’ll put the question out to you. What piques your interest enough in a newsletter to subscribe?

2 responses to “What Makes A Good Newsletter?

  1. Hm. I don’t mind newsletters that are once a month or even once a fornight. Dailies and sometimes even weeklies can get annoying.

    As for content, contests are always good. Tidbits (short posts), quotes, links to where your book has been reviewed, other items of interest, excerpts, etc are pretty standard. I’m a nosey sort, so I like reading about novel progress no matter what stage things are in. Hm… ‘Behind the Book’ type posts are fun. At least, to me. I don’t think I’ll ever grow tired of reading about how authors ‘grow’ their books.

  2. Honestly, I don’t usually subscribe to newsletters unless that’s the only way to get access to a contest I want to join, and even then reluctantly. It always seems that everything I want is on the author’s website where I can see it when I want to, anyway. Sorry, this is probably not in the least bit helpful ;).