What I’m looking forward to most on release day

Tomorrow is official release day for Deadworld. /cheer! It’s a milestone moment in my life, the culmination of a lot of years of spinning wheels and standing idle and then finally getting the traction to move forward and achieve my goal of publication. I got to watch my wife achieve that moment a couple of years ago (romance author Tracy Madison), and beyond being incredibly proud and happy for her, I wanted that moment for myself too. And now here it is. And I am proud and happy and excited. This moment is also tempered by the fact that things have only just begun as far as writing goes. There’s more work to do, deadlines to meet, obligations to fulfill. I’ve really only completed phase one of this long journey, but I’m really looking forward to the next step and the challenges it provides. So, what am I looking forward to the most tomorrow? What am I doing to celebrate this moment?

I’m going to bookstores. Honestly, what could be a better way to commemorate this moment then to see my creation out in the wild, so to speak. To see my book sitting on the shelf with others, with other writers who I know had this same moment once upon a time, and marveled with some sense of disbelief, that their story was going out into the world for others to read and hopefully enjoy. For those who love stories, I don’t think anything quite matches that feeling of roaming a space filled with books, of the possibilities that lurk there, the characters to be found, and finding that wonderful smelling, bound up bundle of imagination that will spark one’s own for hours to come. I’ll sign some copies, and chat with bookstore folk about maybe doing some booksignings. I’ll get to point to my book on the shelf and say to my wife, with childish glee, “Look! There’s my book!” In an inadequate word, it will be “awesome.”

So, that’s what I’ll be doing tomorrow for part of my release day, to celebrate a lot of hard work. I can think of nothing better to do as a way of forever marking this moment in my life. Happy reading/writing everyone!

4 responses to “What I’m looking forward to most on release day

  1. I think that’s what I look forward to the most, if and when my moment comes. Savor it Jim, you will only have one ‘first time’ :-}

    (and take a photo!)