Getting Started-Progress Report 1

Well, I’d hoped to start into Deadworld 3 earlier this week, but finishing off school term has taken longer than anticipated, so I’ll just be getting to it tomorrow. What will I be doing, you ask? I will be gathering up all of my plot notes made over the past few months since finsihing off my draft of Deadworld 2- The Vengeful Dead.

I have a notebook I use to jot down ideas in, and within its pages are a number of pages dedicated to figuring out the plot of D3. There are some thoughts on character development, fleshing out the villain, and further developing the greater series story-arc. It’s a hodge-podge of stuff really, fairly random in order, and not terribly organized. So, I’ll be sorting through it all tomorrow, getting things in order and situated to start writing the rough draft. The nice thing about going over notes like this, is that it helps to spark further ideas, and will allow me to further fill in some details. While I have the rough plot of the story pretty much in hand, there are still a lot of details to work out.

As I’ve stated before, I’m a plotter. I can’t just jump right in and start writing with only vague notions of where I’m going. Many writers can do this, and do it quite well mind you, but I’m not one of them, and I’m admittedly a little envious of that ability. My brain just does not work that way. So, if all goes well, sometime tomorrow I will put the first words down on the new story, the first words I’ve typed on a ms in several months. Needless to say, I’m ready to go. There’s a lot of fun stuff up ahead to be written.

For you writers out there, what kinds of things do you do to prepare to put those first words down on the page? I’m curious. Happy reading/writing everyone!

Comments are closed.