Ask a question, any question…

As I’m experiencing brainlock at the moment on what to blog about today, I’ll just open it up to anyone who stops by today and has a question for me. It can be about anything: the Deadworld series, my writing, thoughts on publishing, favorite foods, books, etc. The stage is open, so step on up and ask away. Happy reading/writing everyone.

8 responses to “Ask a question, any question…

    • Best part is having someone you know you can trust to have not only an objective eye, but has that eye tuned toward the market as well. I have a very hard time getting back far enough from my writing to be objective unless I let my stuff sit for a very long time, so having someone who can handle that objectivity for me is a HUGE plus as a writer for me. Honestly, I’m not sure there is a worst part of it, because I know that without the services of an editor, my writing would not be as good. That right there outweighs any drawbacks, like wanting certain elements changed or altered, dropping scenes, cutting dialogue, and so forth. Every writer should have one in my opinion or at least a very capable critique partner.

    • Priscilla, I was inspired by my grandmother who published 3 mystery novels (one posthumously). She was very artistically inclined (she was a painter too), and I spent summers with my grandparents growing up so I get to see her work and process first hand for a few weeks every summer. That was the first major element. The second was Lord Foul’s Bane by Stephen Donaldson. As a teen, I loved that whole idea of a self-destructive anti-hero, and his world was so fascinating to me. Those two things together got me going. Getting some encouragement on my first efforts by famous children’s author Eve Bunting (who was in my grandmother’s writing group in L.A.) cemented the deal.

  1. Hi Jim!
    What I’d really like to hear about is your journey to publication, i.e. after your query got rejected by Nathan… Thanks.

    • Here’s the long version over at a guest post I did a few days back: http://kbgbabbles.blogspot.com/2011/04/author-guest-post-jn-duncan-and-road-to.html

      The short version of what happened after Nathan rejected me, was a lot more rejections. Main problem, I was submitting it as a thriller, and not even hitting many of the urban fantasy folks, because at the time, I was not even aware that it fit into that genre. I’d sent it to Kensington because they took unsolicited manuscripts, and they took about four months to get back to me. At that point I was on the verge of self-publishing the book and moving on. I was about a third of the way into a new story when they called. I took this 3-book deal, asked for a week, and went back to my list of top ten agents with a request to look at it again. It came down to two at that point, and it was a tough decision but I went with Nathan.

  2. hi Jim!
    Did you have anyone in mind, in regards of physica apearance, like an actor\actress, when you wrote Jackie’s and Nicks characters? 🙂

    • Sure do, Claudia. Jackie is based off of Ashley Judd in the movie Twisted. Nick is based off a pic of Javier Bardem I found, but could also think Tommy Lee Jones or Clint Eastwood back in their earlier days. I kind of went back and forth on the Nick images.