Promo: the good and the bad

Before you get your hopes up that this post is going to provide some expertly advice on promo, I’ll say write off here that this is for humor’s sake. Would that I could do great promo. It’s likely one of the hardest aspects of being an author. Most don’t like it. We aren’t the sorts who like to go about publicly displaying our writing prowess to others. We’re a humble folk. Well, most of us anyway. I’d just like to have people buy my books, tell others about it, and allow me to keep writing. If only it were so simple. These days, because publishers cannot afford to provide adequate promo and marketing to all of their authors, we get to do a lot of it on our own. We do signings, we blog, we have giveaways, do guestposts, and try like hell on very limited amounts of money to get some notice. If however, I had money, you’d likely see my book covers plastered on high profile billboards around the country, taking up full page ads in magazines and papers. It would be splashed all over the internet.

So, in the name of all things humor, I hired (with my scads of monopoly money) two ad agencies to place my book in a place to get me some notice, and here’s what they came up with. Needless to say, I’d go with number one. Happy reading/writing everyone!

 

 

 

 

2 responses to “Promo: the good and the bad

  1. Yay, I bought DEADWORLD off Amazon, and it arrived today 🙂

    P.S. THE LINGERING DEAD is up for pre-order on Amazon UK. Yes, UK – not on the US site yet, as far as I know…

    • Lol, I’ve stopped pretending to understand how those places go about figuring out when to put books up for ordering. Well, after all this time, I hope the story lives up to the wait, and you enjoy the read.