Deadline Insanity

I feel bad for being light on the blog posts the past week, but sadly it will continue to be light for the next couple as I scramble to get The Lingering Dead completed for deadline, which is August 15th. I have 35-40k worth of writing to do in the next 17 days, so I’ll be glued to my keyboard for much of the next couple of weeks. When and if something interesting strikes me during this time, I’ll try to take a few moments out to put something up for those who like to check out my blog.

This is actually the first book I’ve had where I’ve felt the deadline crush, and I can’t say that I’m overly fond of it, but my publisher requested to move up my dates by one month due to some scheduling shuffling for 2012 releases, and I obliged. I knew it would be tight, but I knew it could be done. Regardless, having that pressure to get 1500 to 2000 words out every day no matter what is not something you generally want to be saddled with. Life has a tendency to interfere when you desire for it to run smoothly. So, I offer up a sacrifice to Murphy, in the hopes that his law does not come down on my head over the next several days. Happy reading/writing everyone!

2 responses to “Deadline Insanity

  1. Best of luck and godspeed to your neurons. No matter how much time I have I always end up in a frantic crunch. My man says I’m an adrenaline junkie. May be true, but it’s stressfull.